All our authors

    A l'ombre du Vésuve - 5 pieces for bassoon and piano

    A l'ombre du Vésuve - 5 pieces for bassoon and piano
    Author : COL Bernard

    A l'ombre du Vésuve - 5 pieces for bassoon and piano

    More details

    17,00 € tax incl.


    Other formats
    16,00 €

    5 other products in the same category:




    In the shadow of Vesuvius is a collection of five pieces for bassoon and piano written on a theme evoking the last days before the volcano’s eruption in Pompeii. The first piece, Memento mori (for the end of grade 6) evokes the ephemeral character of life often found in antique frescoes. The second piece, Via dell’abbondanza (grade 7/8 level), is a perambulation in the main street of Pompeii, animated and carefree before the eruption. The third piece, Cave canem (grade 7/8 level), is a musical transcription of the warning found at the entrance of several Pompeian villas (“Beware of the dog”), written in the spirit of the Enigma Variation 11 by Elgar. The fourth piece, Villa dei misteri (grade 9/10 level), is a painting of the sulfurous Villa of the Mysteries, the activities of which are interrupted by the volcano’s eruption. The last piece, After the eruption (grade 7/8 level), is a musical bemoaning of the city immobilised by the ashes.


    1. Memento mori (2’00)

    2. Via dell’abbondanza (2’33)

    3. Cave canem (1’50)

    4. Via dei misteri (3’00)

    5. Après l’éruption (2’30)

    • Code EAN : 9790232112374
    • Duration : 00:11:32
    • Pagination : 20 (score) + 8 (1 part.)
    • Level : (4/8) Medium
    • Style : Modern
    • Output format : Printed format
    • Material : Score and parts
    • Format : 21 x 29,7 cm
    • Date of publication : 2015
    • Instrumentation : Bassoon and piano

    Cart   Quick order

    No products

    Shipping 0,00 €
    Tax 0,00 €
    Total 0,00 €

    Prices are tax included

    Cart Check out



    Callysta - Spectacle musical

    Voir toutes nos vidéos