Quatuorès brassoïdès for Brass quartet

16 (score) + 28 (4 part.) pages, 21 x 29,7 cm

Brass quartet

See digital edition


“Quatuorès Brassoïdès" is written for two trumpets, horn and trombone (other combinations are however possible, with saxhorn, tuba, etc ... hence the Bb and C score for the horn part).

The first movement, relatively serious ("Poważna sprawa" means "serious business" in Polish), opens with a "Maestoso" introduction, before the first trombone (and horn theme) theme on the nervous eighth-notes of trumpets. Then, the four instruments relay each other (long notes, isolated notes completing the harmony, triplets of quarter-notes) in a passage more legato, before turning back to the energetic character of the beginning. The movement ends with a slower coda (Maestoso).

The second movement, "Havanna sauce", is introduced by a percussive rhythm (strikes of the foot on the ground and of the palm of the hand on the mouthpiece) which gradually let the place to the "usual" sound of the instruments: an harmonic sequence and a bass-line inspired by Cuban music (first in 3/4 then in 4/4) runs almost over the whole piece. This second mouvement finishes on a festive end based on complementary and syncopated rhythms.


- Powazna sprawa 00:02:10

- Havanna sauce 00:02:35

Duration : 00:04:45
Material : Score and parts
Date of publication : 2017
Style : Contemporary
Code EAN : 9790232113038
Level : (6/8) Difficult
Output format : Printed format
Product added to wishlist