Haïkus for clarinet, english horn, cello and piano

24 (score) + 18 (3 part.) pages, 21 x 29,7 cm

Clarinet Bb, Englishorn, Cello and Piano

See digital edition

The first collection of Haïkus for clarinet, cello and piano was composed between 2013 and 2014. It was inspired by Natsume Sôseki’s short Japanese poems and a text I wrote. My aim was to retain the brevity and structure of these pieces in music, so as to convey the deeper meaning of the text. Then, in 2015, following a commission by Yves Ballan, the oboist, in the context of his submission for the End of Studies Certificate at the Lorient (France) Conservatory of Music, I struck upon the idea of composing a second volume of Haïkus with an English horn, bearing in mind that I needed to include the possibility of replacing it by the ‘cello, whilst remaining in the same arrangement as the first collection. So, still in the same spirit, I sought inspiration from the poems by Masaoka Shiki and Yosa Buson. There is a melodic unity at the heart of the two cycles, which makes it possible to perform the two volumes as a whole, one after the other.

Duration : 00:07:00
Material : Score and parts
Date of publication : 2018
Style : Contemporary
Code EAN : 9790232115528
Level : (5/8) Medium
Output format : Printed format

Customers who bought this product also bought:

Product added to wishlist