• New

Three nocturnes for organ

24 pages, 21 x 29,7 cm

Piano and string quartet

See digital edition

These Three Nocturnes were written in 2018-2019 to be premiered, masterfully, by Pascale Rouet on the Alsatian Kern organ of Gerstheim. This endearing instrument, rebuilt like the whole church following the fire that devastated the building in the early 2010s, is now in a beautiful architectural setting that has greatly contributed to stimulate the imagination when composing the cycle.

The cycle is explicitly descriptive and aims to immerse the listener in the atmosphere of the three key moments of the nocturnal period: the gradual fall of the evening (Dusk), the dark darkness (Night), the renewal of the morning (Dawn).

The style of the ensemble is flexible and leaves much room for interpretation. The registrations are indicative and can be adapted to the aesthetics of the instrument on which one plays. The three pieces, which are directly inspired by the music of the 19th century, are based on excerpts from the numerous poems that Victor Hugo dedicated, throughout his life, to the theme of the night.

Timing: Crépuscule: 4’10, Nuit: 4’00, Aube: 5’40

Material : Score
Date of publication : 2023
Style : Contemporary
Code EAN : 9790232117737
Level : (5 to 7/8) Medium to difficult
Output format : Printed format
Product added to wishlist