4 illusions for piano

28 pages , 21 x 29,7 cm


See digital edition


Edition directed by Yannick Merlin


Composed from 2007 – 2009, this cycle of Illusions has two main significant themes: a) Optical Illusion and, b) Musical Aesthetics Illusion; each one respectively referring to a different composer.

The first one, Mirage, builds on a traditional structure as a theme with variations, in which the theme appears intermittently especially in the middle of the piece. The piece pays tribute to Maurice Ohana, and particularly to the 4th prelude for piano (suggested, but never quoted).

The second piece, Kaleidoscope, pays tribute to Witold Lutoslawsky. With a totally aleatoric structure, the piece evokes and reproduces the recurring whirlings of the rose-decorated glass windows.

The third piece, Origami, tries to capture and materialize this moment during which the paper item is being created in front of our eyes. This piece pays tribute to Toru Takemitsu.

The last piece, Reflets…Refractions, through a play of mirrors and deformations of musical motifs, echoes some of the preoccupations of Henri Dutilleux (suggested by the “H” and “D” notes).


- Illusion I : « Mirage » (4’45)

- Illusion II : « Kaléidoscope » (1’15)

- Illusion III : « Origami » (1’50)

- Illusion IV : «  Reflets… Réfractions » (2’45)

Duration : 00:10:35
Material : Score
Date of publication : 2013
Style : Contemporary
Code EAN : 9790232108544
Level : (2 to 8/8) Easy to very difficult
Output format : Printed format

Customers who bought this product also bought:

Product added to wishlist