The OM Composer's book 3



Directed by Jean Bresson, Carlos Agon, Gérard Assayag

Preface by Roger Dannenberg


This third volume of the OM Composer's book series presents a new collection of essays written by composers describing musical works carried out with the OpenMusic computer-aided composition environment. OpenMusic is a visual programming language dedicated to music composition, designed and developed at IRCAM. It is the result of years of research and compositional experiments, and is now used by numerous contemporary music composers worldwide. The main objective of this book is to provide an overview of the uses and applications of this environment, as well as of computer music systems in a broader sense. Several approaches are described focusing on varied aspects of musical creation and computer-aided composi- tion, ranging from the production rhythmic or harmonic structures to sound processing and synthesis. The book also reveals composers’ thoughts on more general questions such as pro- gramming and the role of computer processes in musical creation.


Texts by : Julián Ávila, Philippe Boivin, Federico Bonacossa, Jean Bresson, Luiz Castelões, Fabio De Sanctis De Benedictis, Aaron Einbond, Alireza Farhang, Ambrose Field, Gonçalo Gato, Jean-Luc Hervé, Geof Holbrook, Matthew Lane, Serge Lemouton, Eduardo R. Miranda, Alessandro Ratoci, Marlon Schumacher, Matthew Schumaker, Marco Stroppa, Christopher Trapani, Takéshi Tsuchiya, Julien Vincenot, Anders Vinjar, and Michele Zaccagnini.


Collection Musique/Sciences




Material : Book
Language : English
Date of publication : 2016
Code EAN : 9782752102836
Output format : Printed format
Volume : Volume 3
Category : Science of music

Customers who bought this product also bought:

Product added to wishlist