Fünfteilig for clarinet and 13 musicians (FULL SCORE)

96 pages , 21 x 29,7 cm

Bb clarinet and 13 musicians



The work was written for "Alla breve", a daily France-Musique programme. It is a short concerto for clarinet and instrumental ensemble ( woodwind by one, two brass, two percussion and string quintet).

Each of the five short movements illustrates a specific problem of composition.

The first wants to be fluid, flowing, very contrapuntal, and more virtuosic for the solo clarinet than it seems.

In the second movement, the texture of the orchestra is conceived in such a way as to be vertical and static, in accompaniment to the lyricism of the soloist.

The third links the split parts of the soloist and the orchestra with a central cadence of bongos, congas and clarinet.

In the slow fourth movement, the clarinet of the instrumental ensemble doubles, in a lower register, the solo clarinet - the two clarinet parts moving in parallel.

The fifth movement places the soloist in opposition to three separate sound blocks of differing timbre, namely, that of the wind, the strings (in snatched chords) and the percussion.

The playing gets more disparate in the middle of the movement, only to find resolution through a coda which blends the variegated writing of the preceding five movements. Fünftellig is dedicated to Michel Lethiec.

Duration : 00:14:00
Material : Full score
Date of publication : 2004
Style : Contemporary
Code EAN : 9790232102115
Level : (7/8) Difficult
Output format : Printed format
Product added to wishlist