Capricello for oboe ensemble and cello

20 + 40 (8 part.) pages, 21 x 29,7 cm

Collection Les Bandes de Hautbois

2 oboes, 1 oboe d'amore, 2 horns and 2 bassoons and cello solo



CAPPRICELLO is a concert piece for a oboe band and solo Cello . It constituted with four parts : GRAVE , VIVACE, ADAGIO and VIVACE. The two first parts build an Overture « à la française » up ; after a powerful introduction with a vertical writing the cello starts a fugue on a fast tempo. Dorian mode, D minor tonality and whole tone scale are jostling, then mixing each other.

This beginning is strongly influenced by a Renaissance and mainly Baroque repertoire. The third mouvement, Adagio, is more introspective. Cello playing high register gives a tense feeling and brings a more romantic and melancholic mood. At least, the final Vivace uses again – for the main parts – elements that have sooner been heard and it ends the piece with brio.

Asked for by Jacques BERNAERT for t he 2nd « week-end à la campagne », the first perfomance of this work took place on June 25, 2010 in « Saint Arnoult de l'Oise » church, thanks for lucky meeting of cellist Jacques BERNAERT and « la Bande des Hautbois » whose Claude VILLEVIEILLE is the leader.


Collection Les bandes de hautbois

Duration : 00:08:00
Material : Score and parts
Date of publication : 2013
Style : Contemporary
Code EAN : 9790232108025
Level : (5/8) Medium
Output format : Printed format

Customers who bought this product also bought:

Product added to wishlist